• Oregon Urban & Community Forestry Awards


    City of Wilsonville 2024

    Award Categories 


    Individual Awards
    An Individual Award is given to a person who has made significant contributions to urban forestry in Oregon. This may be work in tree planting and care, engaging citizens in community forestry, raising awareness about urban trees, and protecting Oregon’s urban forests.


    Organization Awards
    These awards are given to a business, non-profit, school or municipality actively promoting healthy urban and community forests in Oregon through education, awareness, advocacy and investment in our urban forests.


    President's Award
    The President’s Award is selected by Oregon Community Trees President and recognizes outstanding contributions or life time achievements in the field of urban and community forestry.


    Oregon Tree City of the Year
    The Oregon Tree City of the Year is selected by the Oregon Department of Forestry Urban and Community Forestry Program managers. ODF only considers cities in Oregon recognized by the Arbor Day Foundation as a Tree City USA for this award.


    2024 Urban & Community Forestry Award Recipients



    Ryan Gilpin, tree canopy & habitat advocacy

    Bruce Nelson, aborist & tree advocacy


    City of Wilsonville


    Michael Oxendine, former Oregon Community Trees president and community tree advocate


    City of Pendelton

    Previous Award Recipients

    Since 1994, Oregon Community Trees and the Oregon Department of Forestry have recognized individuals, communities, and organizations in the state who demonstrate outstanding accomplishments and leadership in urban and community forestry. The annual Oregon Urban & Community Forestry Awards Program celebrates Oregonians who understand that healthy urban and community forests foster thriving communities.

    Individual Awards: 

    Cassie Sigloh – 2023 


    Michael Calhoun – 2023


    Tom Ford – 2022


    Stephen Clements – 2022


    Charlotte Lehan, City Councilor, City of Wilsonville – 2021


    Tony Mecum, Urban Forester, City of Grants Pass -2021


    Rachel Munzig, Chairperson of Portland Fruit Tree Project – 2020


    Garry Black, City of Philomath Public Works – 2020


    Chris John, City of Ashland Tree Commission – 2019


    Kerry Rappold, City of Wilsonville Natural Resources Manager – 2019


    Casey Roland, Casey P. Roland Tree Care – 2018


    Mary Harrell, Friends of Trees – 2018


    Paul Hennon, City of Tualatin Community Services Director – 2018


    Kasia Quillinan, City of Salem Parks Advisory Board – 2017


    Lia Spiegel, City of La Grande – 2017


    Ian Keene, Lincoln City – 2016


    Lee Stevenson, Project Ponderosa Pine, Sunriver – 2016


    Patricia Farrell, City of Salem – 2016




    Organization Awards:


    Portland Fruit Tree Project – 2023


    Rivers of Life Center – 2023


    Friends of Bandon Park 2022


    Highland Neigborhood Association 2022


    Essex General Construction – 2021


    Clackamas River Basin Council – 2020


    Willamette Valley Ponderosa Pine Conservation Association – 2019


    Plant Oregon Nursery, Talent, Oregon – 2018


    North Clackamas Parks & Recreation District’s Natural Areas Program – 2017


    Eugene Friends of Trees – 2016




    President’s Award:


    Terry Flanagan – 2023


    Jennifer Killian, City of Corvallis Urban Forester 2022


    Kristin Ramstad, Oregon Department of Forestry: Urban & Community Forestry Assistance Program Manager – 2021


    Scott Altenhoff, City of Eugene Urban Forestry Management Analyst – 2020


    Diane Berry, City of Echo Urban Forest Manager – 2019


    Jon Pywell, City of Corvallis Urban Forester – 2018


    Greg Giesy, Past President – 2017


    Brian Wegener, Past President – 2017


    John Bellon, City of Klamath Falls – 2016



    Oregon Tree City of the Year Award:


    City of Talent – 2023


    City of Cottage Grove 2022


    City of Milwaukie – 2021


    City of Grants Pass – 2020


    City of Corvallis – 2019


    City of Lake Oswego – 2018


    City of Baker City – 2017


    City of Eugene – 2016